The political system of Australia comprises of 3 main tiers of the government mentioned as below.

1- The Federal Government – Australia, known to be a constitutional monarchy makes use of a parliamentary system of the government. This is further divided into three different branches called legislative, executive and judiciary. The constitution of the Democratic legislature comprises of the Queen, the Senate and the House of representatives. The federal Government is allocated with certain powers while the legislative powers are handed over to the Commonwealth Government.

2- Territory and State Government – There are ten territories in Australia located just outside the state borders. Out of these ten territories, the Commonwealth has authorized to have limited rights of self government to ACT (Australian Capital Territory), NT (Northern Territory), two mainland territories and the Norfolk Island. Regarding the states, Australia has a total of six states namely Tasmania, West Australia, South Australia, Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria. Each state has its own constitution that is run by the federal branches known as legislative, executive and judiciary. The state government has the right to pass laws which even the Commonwealth Government does not have.

3- Local Government – The local government is a subdivision of the States and the Northern territory. Canberra known to be Australia’s National capital does not actually have an independent local government and the functions are carried out either by the state government or the local government and finally accomplished by the territorial government of the ACT (Australian Capital Territory). The functions of the local government of Australia are almost the same as that of the state and the Federal Government and they carry various names though LGA (Local Government Area) is the official term given to the Local Government Unit.

The above mentioned are the three main political systems of Australia.